Shocker Brew 7/3: Officially Official

Today, a legendary coach gets inducted into Kansas Sports HOF and the countdown continues of the top stories from 2023-24

Good morning! Before the barbecues, beach trips and fireworks this weekend, we’ve got plenty of action coming your way in today’s Shocker Brew.

We’ll be taking the rest of this week off to enjoy the holiday before ramping back up next week as we look forward to another exciting fall in Wichita!

What else are we mixing into today’s Brew?

🏆️ Legendary coach inducted into Kansas Sports HOF
⏰ The countdown continues of the top stories from 2023-24
🌾 ​ And much, much more!


🔼 Enshrined Forever. Former Wichita State head men's basketball coach Mark Turgeon is one of 12 members in the 2024 class set to be inducted into the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame. Turgeon was the head coach of the Shockers from 2000-07, leading Wichita State to one NCAA Tournament and three NIT appearances. He compiled a 128-90 record during his tenure in Wichita before taking the head job at two other programs.


🔼 No. 4: First-year head coach Paul Mills guided the Shocker men's basketball team in the right direction late in the season by leading the team to five wins in the final eight games. That stretch included a 74-66 win at eventual AAC tournament champion UAB and a 71-65 win over Memphis in the second round of the tournament.

More importantly, the Shockers started the 2025 season strong by retaining eight members of the team and making additions to build an experienced team that is physically mature with about as much continuity as the current era of college sports allows.

🔼 No. 3: A run through a bracket is one of the joys of sports and Shocker volleyball took that seriously in 2023. Wichita State dominated the NIVC, defeating Arkansas State, Tulsa, Drake, and Montana State at home before sweeping at UTEP to win the national title. The Shockers went 26-8, their most wins since the 2017 team, and WSU's 15-4 AAC record and second-place finish are also the best marks since 2017.

🔼 Officially Official. Following the turn of the calendar to July 1st, the Wichita State women's bowling program officially became an NCAA Division 1 program, joining Conference USA as an affiliate member for the 2024-25 season. Though only joining the NCAA ranks this year, the Shocker’s women's bowling team has been a national powerhouse in collegiate bowling for more than four decades. The program has won a record 11 ITC national titles, most recently in 2024.

🔼 Classroom Club Twirl. After another year of excelling in the classroom, five Wichita State women's golfers have been selected to the WGCA 2023-24 All-American Scholar list. The five Shocker scholars chosen this year were graduate student Sarah Lawson, senior Madison Slayton, and sophomores Brooklyn Benn, Lauren Thiele, and Mackenzie Wilson. Being selected to the list is a high honor, as the minimum cumulative GPA needed by a student-athlete to be selected is 3.50.

🔼 The Roundhouse Podcast. On the latest episode from the Roundhouse Podcast, Wichita State men’s basketball newcomers Corey Washington, Zane Meeks, AJ McGinnis and Justin Hill talk about their journey to Wichita State, early impressions of practices and favorite NBA players. The group also dispenses advice to the youngsters and discusses football as a second sport.


The First of Many. Today’s trivia question…which year did Wichita State women’s bowling win its first-ever ITC National Championship?

Think you got it? Scroll down to see if you know your stuff!


Do you know a friend or family member who is a Shocker fan? Simply forward them this email and they can sign up to receive the brew by clicking the link below to subscribe. The Shocker Brew is sent every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday and is completely free!


With the conclusion of the 2023-24 Wichita State athletic calendar, it’s time to get excited for what’s to come! Check out some of the events the Shockers will host throughout the summer.

⚾️ July 25 - August 3: NBC World Series @ Eck Stadium


Answer: 1975!

Shocker women’s bowling’s first national title came in 1975, followed by championships in 1977, 1978, 1986, 1990, 1994, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2021 and 2024.

🌾 Have a great Wednesday, y’all!